Architecture Things » 2012 Pritzker Prize Goes to Wang Shu

2012 Pritzker Prize Goes to Wang Shu

2012 Pritzker Prize Goes to Wang Shu

So many big names like Eduardo Souto de Moura (2011), Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of SANAA (2010), Peter Zumthor (2009), Thom Mayne (2005), Zaha Hadid (2004), Rem Koolhaas (2000), Norman Foster (1999), Tadao Ando (1995), Alvaro Siza (1992), Luis Barragán (1980) and Philip Johnson in 1979 had received the Pritzker Prize, The architecture’s highest honor. And this 2012 the architect that received this award for his greatest architecture design project that become the inspiration by all architects in the world is The Chinese architect Wang Shu, The 48 year old architect whose practice Amateur Architecture Studio is based in Hangzhou, The People’s Republic of China.

The distinguished jury that selected the 2012 Pritzker Laureate consists of its chairman, The Lord Palumbo, internationally known architectural patron of London, chairman of the trustees, Serpentine Gallery, former chairman of the Arts Council of Great Britain, former chairman of the Tate Gallery Foundation, and former trustee of the Mies van der Rohe Archive at the Museum of Modern Art, New York; and alphabetically: Alejandro Aravena, architect and executive director of Elemental in Santiago, Chile; Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Washington, D.C.; Yung Ho Chang, architect and educator, Beijing, The People’s Republic of China; Zaha Hadid, architect and 2004 Pritzker Laureate; Glenn Murcutt, architect and 2002 Pritzker Laureate of Sydney, Australia; Juhani Pallasmaa, architect, professor and author of Helsinki, Finland; and Karen Stein, writer, editor and architectural consultant in New York. Martha Thorne, associate dean for external relations, IE School of Architecture, Madrid, Spain, is the executive director of the prize.

news/Image Source:

Leave a Reply